The January 29 meeting of the Newport Center Toastmasters Club was attended by 25 members and 9 guests: Samuel Quinta (4th visit), Justin Li (3rd visit), Karen Mileski (2nd visit), Monica Jerez (2nd visit), Andrea Chait (2nd visit), Shiva Batchu (2nd visit), John Purcell (1st visit), Laure Thibodeau (1st visit), Tom Vinito (1st visit).  
Our location is at the East Bluffs Homeowners Community at 2414 Vista Del Oro, Newport BeachPlease remember to park on Vista del Oro or in the park’s parking lot and not in the Homeowners Community lot.
Feel free to our club’s website at
The theme was: “Best Lesson I Never Learned”. The word of the day was: “disdain”.
The winners were:
  • Best Table Topics = Daniel Oh
  • Colette Gardner Spark Plug Award = Dr. Bob Wood
  • Risk Taker =  Dr. Bob Wood
  • Best Evaluator = Breanne Eshelman
  • Most Improved Speaker =  Alex Obradovic
  • Second Best Speaker = Sandy Printer
  • Best Speaker =  Dr. Bob Wood
  • President: Steve Babyak

Toastmaster: Irina Shetty

Table Topics Master: Jorge Gomez

General Evaluator:  Dustin Rich

  1. Alex Obradovic – Beginning Manual – Speech 3 – “Principles of Influence”
  2. Ron Anderson – Advanced Manual, Entertaining Speaker – Speech 5 – Speaking After Dinner
  3. Sandy Printer – Advanced Manual, Speaking to Inform – Speech 1 – “MVP”
  4. Ron Anderson – Advanced Manual, Entertaining Speaker – Speech 4 – “Enjoying Your Stay in a Hospital”
  5. Evaluators: Carl Tung, Chris Barbera, Cyn Hannah, Breanne Eshelman
Old Business:
– Please always bring and use your manuals, both Competent Communicator and Competent Leadership.
 It is important to keep our introductions, invocation, toast, educational minute and joke, short.
– Please note that we are not to park in the street or lot because it is reserved for the residents.
New Business:
–  New Members Inducted (Motion:  Cyn Hannah, 2nd:  John Hawkotte).  Samuel Quinta and Justin Li were inducted as members.
–  Ron Anderson gave notice that he is going inactive.
–  We will not be meeting on President’s Day, Monday February 19.
Breanne Eshelman, Secretary.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This